2015 Junior Champions

South Region Junior County Match Week 2015
10-12 August
at Effingham GC, Surrey

(Each year the five counties of the England Golf South Region (Hampshire, Kent, Middlesex, Surrey and Sussex) meet to play the Junior County Match Week.  Each county has a team of 8 players who play scratch singles matchplay against each of the other four counties.)

Junior County Match Week ChampionsA proud day in August when Hampshire’s junior elite won this year’s Junior County Match Week, hosted by Surrey Ladies County Golf Association at Effingham GC, Leatherhead.

Our first match on Monday afternoon v Sussex was a win this year ( having drawn with them the last 2 years.) This set the stage, and the girls were eager to go on Tuesday, playing Middlesex. This ended with a draw which was a really encouraging result, as the girls had lost to them last year by one game.

The afternoon saw Hampshire playing their Stableford round, 4 pairs in  a Foursomes format, best 3 scores to count..  In the past this has been a lighthearted affair with lots of staged photographs taken.  However, the weather was damp, and pictures of all the girls in a bunker, or perched in a tree did not happen.  The minds were very focused, and Hampshire scored a massive 109 points, beating Sussex on countback to win that competition.

Wednesday morning and 2 more matches to go.  First was Surrey, who won the competition last year. With 2 wins  of 4&3, and one of 3&2, and 1 & 2, plus a draw meant that the girls safely won the match. Excitement was growing.  The afternoon game against Kent loomed. Although expected to win, golf results are often unpredictable. However, win they did with a convincing 5 & 2. Jubilation and a threat to throw Kevin Flynn, our lead Coach into the lake was avoided, as there was only a water tank, and Kevin had a long journey home. For Kevin, from Tournerbury in Hayling Island, these were thrilling few days, as he had just returned from coaching the Latvian team in the European Championships where  Latvia got a bronze medal.

Hampshire was represented by: Emma Higgins (captain), Flora Keites, Beth Goater, Adrian Mylrea, Stephanie Balley, Megan Graham, Tara O’Herlihy and Katy Mackworth- Praed.